The concept and levels of Jannah in Islam

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 / 0 Comment(s)

In Islam, there is a concept of Jannah which is also called as Jannat, Paradise and Heaven. It is basically a place for those who are righteous and pious Muslims. It is a place of permanent and everlasting bliss and peace.

Concept of Jannah in Islam:

The concept of Jannat in Islam can be explained as;

  • On the final day of judgement, when everyone will be held accountable for his/her deeds, those with more good deeds than bad ones on balance will be rewarded with the place in Jannat.
  • Jannat is a reward for the successful Muslims who obey Allah in this world and thus, remain successful in both of the worlds.
  • It is a final destination of the good Muslims.

Quranic verses about Jannat:

  • “This is a reminder. And indeed, for the righteous is a good place of return. Gardens of perpetual residence, whose doors will be opened to ” (38:49-50)
  • “Is the description of Paradise, which the righteous are promised, wherein are rivers of water unaltered, rivers of milk the taste of which never changes, rivers of wine delicious to those who drink, and rivers of purified honey, in which they will have from all [kinds of] fruits and forgiveness from their Lord…” (47:15)

Levels of Jannat:

There are many levels of Jannat. According to some scholars, Jannat has 100 levels while as per some, there is no limit to the levels of Paradise. Some other scholars say that the number of levels of Jannat is equal to the number of Quranic verses i.e., 6,236.

“Paradise has one hundred grades which Allah has reserved for the fighters in His cause, and the distance between each of the two grades is like the distance between the sky and the earth. So when you ask Allah, ask for Al Firdaus, for it is the best and highest part of Paradise.” (Hadith)

However, a list of seven levels of Jannat is below that is known to many people;

  1. Jannat ul Mawa:

    It is a home for the martyred and a place to take refuge.

  2. Darul Maqaam:

    It is where these is no weariness.

  3. Darul Salaam:

    It is a place of peace and safety where there is no negative or evil speech.

  4. Daarul Khuld:

     A home for those who ward off evil.

  5. Jannat ul Adan:

    It is a garden which is of never ending happiness. Prophet Muhammad (SAWW) said, “While the dwellers of Adn Jannah see their Lord, there is just the “Curtain of Glorious” between them and Allah (SWT).” (Bukhari)

  6. Jannat ul Naeem:

    It is a jannat where people will lead a successful and peaceful life. There will be wealth, welfare and blessings for the people of this jannat.

  7. Jannat ul Firdous:

    Firdous means garden which has all kinds of plants. It is a place with grapevines and many other fruits and vegetables. It is a home for the believers who performed good deeds. Prophet Muhammad (SAWW) said, “When you ask Allah for jannat, ask for Firdous.”

Every Muslim wishes to enter Jannat on the final day of judgement but one has to perform more and more good deeds and attain the pleasure of Allah to get a place in the Paradise in Akhirat. It is a hadith that, “Indeed, truthfulness leads to righteousness and indeed righteousness leads to Jannah.”  (Sahih al-Bukhari)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please fill the below Required Feilds.

Register Now For 3 Days Free Trials

Call Us Today:

Sitemap Copyright © All Rights Reserved 2024.